Special Town Meeting

Tuesday, January 7, 2003

TOWN MEETING MINUTES

TO: Louise H. Lester, a resident of the Town of Raymond, in the County of Cumberland and State of Maine. GREETINGS:

In the name of the State of Maine, you are hereby required to notify and warn the inhabitants of the Town of Raymond, qualified by law to vote in Town affairs, to meet at the Raymond Town Office, in said Town of Raymond on Tuesday, January 7, 2003 at 7:00 PM, then and there to act on the following articles:

OPENING: Louise Lester, Town Clerk, opened the meeting at 7:00 pm.

ARTICLE 1: To elect a moderator to preside at said meeting.

NOMINATION: There was a nomination and second for Joseph Bruno.

NOMINATION: There was a nomination for Frank McDermott.

DECLINED: Mr. McDermott declined the nomination.

MOTION: There was a motion and second for nominations to cease.

VOTE: Carried.

VOTE FOR NOMINATION: Carried.

Joseph Bruno was sworn in.

ARTICLE 1: To elect a moderator to preside at said meeting.

ARTICLE 2: To see if the Town will vote to ratify the Option Agreement between the Town of Raymond and Parson's Realty Company, Inc. dated November 21, 2002; appropriate the sum of \$79,500 from Municipal Fund Balance (undesignated surplus) to purchase the former Post Office building located at 51 Main Street, Raymond, Maine; and grant the Chairman of the Board of Selectmen authority to execute any necessary documents to facilitate the purchase.

Amount requested: \$79,500.

The Selectmen recommend the amount requested.

The Budget Finance Committee *_____ the amount requested.

*The Budget Finance Committee has no recommendation due to the lack of a majority vote.

Explanation: The purpose of acquiring this property is to obtain additional land in Raymond Village for the potential future construction of improved Library and Town Office facilities. The Town presently owns the lots occupied by the Raymond Village Library and the old District One Fire Station. The property located at 51 Main Street abuts the Library lot.

MOTION: There was a motion and second to indefinitely postpone the article.

VOTE: Failed.

MOTION: There was a motion and second to approve Article 2.

DISCUSSION: None

VOTE: The hand vote was inconclusive because of the room being heavily populated and people were calling for discussion.

MODERATOR DISCRETION: The moderator declared the discussion be allowed and the vote delayed.

DISCUSSION: Discussion was entertained.

MOTION: There was a motion and second to move the question.

VOTE: Carried.

MOTION: There was a motion and second to have a secret ballot.

VOTE: Carried.

VOTE ON ARTICLE: in favor 33, opposed 45. Failed.

MOTION: There was a motion and second to adjourn.

VOTE: Carried.

ADJOURNMENT: The Special Town Meeting was adjourned at 8:05 pm.

RECESS: Mrs. Brown recessed the meeting to allow people to exit the building that wished to.

SELECTMEN'S MEETING MINUTES

1. OPEN SELECTMEN'S MEETING: Ada Brown opened the Selectmen's meeting at 8:08 pm at the Town Office.

3. Consideration of previous minutes dated:

· December 17, 2002

MOTION: Dana Desjardins motioned to approve the minutes of December 17, 2003. Seconded by Charles Leavitt.

VOTE: Unanimous.

· December 23, 2002

MOTION: Betty McDermott motioned to approve the minutes of December 23, 2003. Seconded by Christine McClellan.

VOTE: Unanimous.

4. Reappoint Louise Murray as Voter Registrar.

MOTION: Betty McDermott motioned to appoint Louise Murray to a two year term as Voter Registrar. Seconded by Christine McClellan.

VOTE: Unanimous.

5. Executive Session. Discussion with Town Attorney regarding land use issues and possible Administrative Consent Agreement.

MOTION: Dana Desjardins motioned to go into Executive Session with the Town Attorney Geoff Hole, Don Willard, Town Manager, and John Cooper, Code Enforcement Officer. Seconded by Betty McDermott.

RECESS: Ada Brown recessed the meeting at 8:10 pm.

MOTION: Betty McDermott motioned to come out of Executive Session. Seconded by Charles Leavitt.

VOTE: Unanimous.

RE-OPEN MEETING: Ada Brown re-opened the meeting at 8:20 pm.

VOTE: Unanimous.

MOTION: Christine McClellan motioned to allow the town attorney to go forward with the consent agreement and allow the Town Manager to execute it. Seconded by Dana Desjardins.

VOTE: Unanimous.

DISCUSSION: Mr. Hole said he recommended this approach with the consent agreement that no further division of land be done unless it goes through the usual subdivision approval process. He said that the Town should break even with the expenses. He added that the agreement had been signed by the two parties involved.

MOTION: Dana Desjardins motioned to go into Executive Session to talk about a land use issue. Seconded by Christine McClellan.

VOTE: Unanimous

NOTE: Betty McDermott excused herself because of a conflict of interest.

RECESS: Ada Brown recessed the meeting at 8:26 pm.

MOTION: Dana Desjardins motioned to come out of Executive Session. Seconded by Charles Leavitt.

VOTE: 4 in favor (Desjardins, Leavitt, Brown, McClellan) 1 abstention (McDermott)

RE-OPEN MEETING: Ada Brown re-opened the meeting at 8:33 pm.

DISCUSSION: Mrs. Brown said that no action was taken.

6. Communications and other business.

a. Cardboard enclosure at Public Works.

Mr. Willard explained that the reason the enclosure was faced toward Egypt Road was because it allow that the driveway would remain the same and the snow plowing would be easier. It also allows some exposure of people delivering cardboard to the containers so that they won't leave anything that doesn't belong there. He said that gates could be considered in the future if it's found to be necessary.

b. Meeting notice of January 15, 2003 at the Harrison School in Yarmouth discussing the Chebeague Island Residents Tax Proposal.

c. Meeting notice of January 9, 2003 for the Central Corridors Coalition group.

7. Review and authorize January 7, 2003 Treasurer's Warrant.

MOTION: Betty McDermott motioned to approve the Treasurer's Warrant in the amount of \$216,396.61. Seconded by Christine McClellan.

VOTE: Unanimous.

8. Adjourn

MOTION: Dana Desjardins motioned to adjourn. Seconded by Charles Leavitt.

VOTE: Unanimous.

ADJOURNMENT: Ada Brown adjourned the meeting at 8:38 pm.

Louise H. Lester Town Clerk